Skip to content

today!

September 22, 2010

1. O Stairs of Amman, how you wear me down. My calves are crying out for relief…that they will not get. It’s not so much worse than the first days back at dance when I was in school. Or so I keep telling myself. But um…I can’t tell if I’m super out of shape or if climbing up and down a mountain everyday in the hot dry sun is as strenuous as it feels.

2. IT RAINED. Today! Started early in the morning, but I assumed I was dreaming. Good thing my roommate did not and thought to bring in our wash from the line outside. Oh man, it was crazy. (That it rained, I mean. Not the bringing in of laundry.)

3. I got to visit a lovely Iraqi family today, and for the first time this week visiting felt comfy and fun. Partly because I’m starting to get a grip on colloquial Arabic (as much as you can in a week) and it’s not as jumbled up in my ears now, and partly because they were so eager to learn English that our fumbling conversation was mutually embarrassing and mutually beneficial. And also they have two crazy and adorable little boys. (Visiting is kind of a big part of local culture, which is very much hospitality-driven. I’ve just been tagging along on Roommate J’s visits so far and, until today, sitting quietly while trying to figure out what on earth people are saying.)

4. I got my first real glimpse of West Amman today. Everyone kept telling me it’s a completely different world, but…wow. That is no lie. It is clean and Western and, I don’t know, shiny. Not exactly the Amman I live in, but just as real as my humble neighborhood.

5. Today, when I was walking home with a totally preoccupied brain, I turned the wrong way on a street. I was about to do a 180 and head in the other direction when I realized that school had just gotten out and I was surrounded by kids and their moms, most of whom were sneaking curious glances my way. I was too embarrassed to do the turnaround while they were all watching, so I kept going and stopped by at the store to pick up some groceries as if that was my intent all along. Uh, good thing I got there and realized I had only 1 JD with me. So I bought a random package of noodles and headed–this time in the right direction–towards home. But don’t worry. As you might already know, I used to do this kind of thing ALL THE TIME at home and school, too. I guess this means all is well.

*Realized how many times I said the word “today” in this list and thought it deserved to be the title. But that’s the idea, right?? One day at a time? I think it’s working, for now. Each day is full of discovery. And I’m loving it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. daniel p permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:30 pm

    how dare you get a wordpress

    • September 23, 2010 11:10 pm

      whatevs, i’m just trying it out, ok…

  2. jonathan permalink
    September 23, 2010 12:21 am

    – m. conference this weekend challenged me to learn a new language. is arabic especially difficult? any more so than spanish or french?
    – reading your blogs and how vivid and descriptive they are makes me realize how bad i am at narrative writing. seriously. blah!
    – hope all is well dudeeee. your light gray entry URLs are like impossible to read and they hurt my eyes.

    • September 23, 2010 11:15 pm

      -(edited your comment because i’m avoiding the m-word on the blog, if you’re wondering.) oh my gosh, jells, study arabic!! yes it’s especially difficult. more so than spanish or french. (it’s a category 3 for english native speakers according to the foreign service institute, along with asian languages. different script, several different/difficult sounds, and no relationship with english, so no baseline for help…like with spanish, often you can see the latin root and connect it with english words.) but WORTH it.
      -haha thanks!
      -i can’t change the colors. 😦 at least, not without paying. one major con of wp. sowwy.

  3. September 23, 2010 11:26 pm

    Hi Stephanie!
    Just wanted to say hi and we miss you back home.

    Keep posting lots of pics. They are good πŸ™‚

  4. September 24, 2010 4:18 am

    Climbing the stairs can replace your former dancing exercises. πŸ˜€

    Also, I’m really curious what this “m-word” is now.

Leave a Reply

