Skip to content

almost autumn

October 6, 2010

I’ve been silently longing for the cool snap of autumn in the air to arrive, if only to relieve me a little from my sweaty uphill journeys everyday. But now that the temperature is taking a solid dip–upper 70s in the daytime, 60s in the evenings–I’m realizing that the cold will bring its own complications. Ice on the slippery hills. Mold, apparently, inside the house. And I will definitely be losing out on the super-quick line drying of my clothes and bedsheets. When I brought them in yesterday night, they were still a bit damp after hanging out for twice as long as usual.

Anyway, all of that I will worry about later. For now, I am thankful for the cool breezes. They are like water to my soul when I’m starting to feel anxious, because who doesn’t love a good fall breeze?

Signs that I’m settling into life here, slowly but surely:

  • I got my blood (HIV) test today so I can extend my visa. After being ripped off by a cab driver who went the wrong way and then pretended he misheard me when I told him where we were going (LIES, because he even repeated it after me), I met up with my roommate and made it just in time before the clinic closed–I was the absolute last person to get tested! And then, because I lack any semblance of coordination, I failed to pick up my passport from the table and hold the cotton ball to my vein at the same time and ended up with blood streaks all down my arm for the rest of the afternoon. Go me.
  • I know how to say “addict” and “kidnap” in Arabic. Interestingly, I learned both in the context of religious vocabulary. Why? I do not know. (Actually, with the first, I do know–“addict” and “believer” are just one consonant away from each other…which my teacher pointed out after my classmate accidentally claimed that everyone in her family was an “addict.”)
  • I have bought my share of bootleg DVDs. They’re all you can get around here! No such thing as legally obtained ones. Talk about moral dilemmas.
  • I find I am deeply distressed by the tomato crisis that has hit this country. Tomatoes are a HUGE staple here, and thus a crucial part of my own diet.
  • I am no longer jumpy and ill-at-ease when greeting and talking to people, and I go for the double cheek kiss without hesitation now. And I can carry on a basic conversation in Arablish if I must.
  • When I saw this woman wearing a sweater I really envied today, I realized I liked it because it was “long and not ugly.” Pretty much my only criteria these days for attractive tops. I think my standards have changed…
  • I’m nesting. I crocheted a hat (my flatmate knits, and once in a while we hang out in the evening and catch part of a movie on TV or something while we work)…And figured out how to bake by weight to whip up some blondies…

And then ate most of said blondies. Of course.

In other news, I have taught my first English class, which was really fun. I have three more this week, and then a possible schedule adjustment that will add another. We’ll see.

To close…here is a crooked shot of the view I get on the way to my Arabic class. Staircase number 1 of 4 (two down, two up).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    October 7, 2010 4:49 am

    cute hat! I’m knitting a neck tube right now…I think it has a real name, but basically it’s a neck tube. I’ll send you a picture when I’m finished, it actually looks pretty cute on a person, like a scarf without ends. And it’s really easy so I can do it while watching shows and stuff. Also today I baked chocolate chip oatmeal cookies and enjoyed/complained about the fall winds. Are we the same person, only a continent removed? Miss you!

    • October 7, 2010 2:46 pm

      ahahha i want to see the neck tube!! don’t you forget to send me a picture. and yes, of COURSE we’re the same person a continent removed. always. eek i better write you a real email so i can get the lowdown on life! ā¤

    • jonathan permalink
      October 14, 2010 12:58 am

      hahahaha neck tube. neck GATOR.

  2. Elliott Kim permalink
    October 8, 2010 2:41 am

    wow, bootleg dvd’s tsk tsk
    even in mexico you can get legal ones, you just go to walmart šŸ™‚

  3. Mom permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:30 am

    I want a hat like that! Actually I have one but it is an ugly taupe color, not as pretty as yours.

  4. Daniel P permalink
    October 8, 2010 6:28 am

    you think tomato shortage is bad? you obv. haven’t heard about the kimchi shortage in korea. people are going nuts.

    • October 8, 2010 10:49 am

      haha i just looked it up. people are going crazy. not surprisingly. i will say, though, that not only does this tomato crisis affect pretty much every middle eastern dish ever, it’s also an economic problem…jordan is the only winter exporter of tomatoes in the region, and this could really mess them up if it doesn’t get under control.

  5. Dad permalink
    October 8, 2010 8:12 pm

    mom thinks she still has that ugly hat. haha
    i threw it away long time ago. you better make one for mom
    otherwise i’ll be in trouble. we have a yard sale coming up. ^^

  6. frangie permalink
    October 8, 2010 10:13 pm

    HAHA why are your parents so funny? LIKE LIKE this post! hope you pass your HIV test!

Leave a Reply

