Skip to content

happy election day!

November 9, 2010

So…I meant to give you an update on Petra/Wadi Rum as soon as I sorted through my photos and my thoughts, but somehow the days have just been flying by. And I’m quite behind on my blogging. Sorry! I promise it’s coming soon.

Meanwhile, what did I do today, on the momentous occasion of Jordan’s national elections for their 16th parliament?

1. I showered. A nice, warm, continuous (but still short) shower. Hooray for Water Day! And then I put a load of laundry in.

2. I ran errands. I wasn’t sure what stores would be open, but there were more than expected. I went to pick up passport photos, because I am applying for a new passport–mine has some complicated visa issues involving travel in this part of the world (basically, because of a certain incriminating stamp, I am not allowed in several nearby countries unless I get a new or temporary one. But mine is just short of full, so I thought I’d go ahead and get a new one). Of course, the photo guy told me he couldn’t print it out because things were closed for elections, and if I wanted them by tomorrow, I’d also have to take a new photo because his memory card was somewhere else. Huh? Hence, for the next ten years I will have to carry around a passport with a truly terrible picture, because I did NOT come to the shop prepared for that at all.

Also, maybe because everyone was in a boisterous election-celebrating mood, I got a few more harassing remarks from the shebab than usual (I hear they’re called “piropos” in Spanish? *Props to A.P. in Chile). Let’s count: two “Sin, Sinia!” (“China, Chinese”), one “Filipin!” (“Philippines”), and one “Wooowww.”

3. I came home and made meatballs. Why? Because I had some ground beef defrosting and didn’t know what else to do with it before it went bad.

4. I trekked to a cafe in Jebel Amman with two lovely girls to make some travel plans. Overpriced beverages, free wireless Internet, and expats speaking English all around. After we figured some things out and I scared myself by reading traumatic tales online about possible complications with the voyage, I hunkered down and worked on my law school application essay…even though I gave myself the deadline of “October 31” to turn all my apps in. That obviously didn’t happen. On the plus side, I made great progress.

5. When one of my friends suggested we eat dinner at a Chinese place near Second Circle [can’t remember if I’ve mentioned, but Amman is oriented around seven “circles,” which are like roundabouts but way more complicated], I literally DEMANDED that we go. Here’s why: two nights ago I was reading a novel before bed and came across a scene where the characters were eating Chinese takeout. It was past midnight, but I suddenly had this incredible craving–longing, even–for greasy Chinese food. I went to sleep very hungry and very sad, and I woke up still craving. But here’s to happy endings. I came home today very full and very satisfied.

6. I did my share of cleaning with the still-flowing water and unwound from my thoroughly un-stressful day with a cup of tea. I think I might drink more tea here than I did in Ireland. But I still drink it their way (milk, no sugar) rather than the Arab way (sugar, no milk).

I’m not going to claim this is a typical day for me at all, but sometimes you need these little breaks–Chinese food and expat hangouts–to make it through the rest of the month sane. You know what I mean? So I’m not exactly complaining, either. Much love.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. daniel p permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:09 pm

    i know another place that’s made up of seven circles (supposedly). i hear it’s not as nice as jordan.

    • November 11, 2010 10:49 pm

      ….hahaha. i wonder if anyone thought of that before designing them…though this isn’t exactly a city that was “planned” in the traditional understanding of that word. and this isn’t exactly a country that you’d expect to be well-versed in dante. on top of which there are in fact nine circles of hell in the inferno, so i’m not sure why “seven” is the thing to say. maybe because one is limbo and nine is where satan lives?? ok it’s getting too nerdy up in here; time to stop.

  2. Elliott Kim permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:34 pm

    that is one strange day, glad I don’t have to worry about running out of water here

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:05 am

    Fun facts: I love tea. I drink at least a cup a day right now. Black tea with sugar and milk, green/herbal tea with honey. Chris keeps coming over and drinking cup after cup of tea. I wish you were here to drink tea with us, too!

    • November 11, 2010 10:50 pm

      fun fact: i miss you tons and am jealous of chris!

Leave a Reply

